History Department {College of Liberal & Creative Arts}

Image: Photos of SF State students

Faculty

Art Arrieta

Arturo Arrieta

Lecturer
at SFSU since 2005
Office: HUM 274
Office hours: M, F 1230-1:30
Phone: 
Email: aarrieta@sfsu.edu
Subjects: World History, US History

Dayna Barnes

Dayna Barnes

Lecturer
Office: HUM 368
Office hours: TH 3-4
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: dbarnes@sfsu.edu

Maziar Behrooz

Maziar Behrooz

Associate Professor *Advisor, Middle East
Ph.D., UC, Los Angeles, 1993
at SFSU since 1995
Office: HUM 129
Office hours: MW 11-12
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: mroozbeh@sfsu.edu
Web: online.sfsu.edu/mroozbeh
Subjects: Middle East, Modern Period, Iran-Iraq, Social History, Intellectual History

Deborah Brown

Deborah Brown

Lecturer
Office: HSS 378
Office hours: 
Phone: (415) 405-2609
Email: dbrown@sfsu.edu

Dennis Campbell

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Chicago, 2007
Office hours: T 11-12, TH 11-12 and 2-4
Phone: 338-1604
E-mail:  drcampbe@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Ancient World, Middle East

Chris Chekuri

Chris Chekuri

Associate Professor  *Advisor
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2005
at SFSU since 2004
Office: HUM 325
Office hours: M 1-2, W 11-12 Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: cchekuri@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Medieval and Early Modern South Asia, Colonialism and Culture, Telugu Literature and Politics, Globalization, History and Theory

Carlo Corea

Carlo Corea

Lecturer 
Ph.D., SUNY at Stony Brook, 2001
at SFSU since 2003
Office HUM 581 Phone: (415) 338-1604
Office hours: T 10-11
Email: cjcoreaus@yahoo.com
Subjects: History of Sexuality, History of Childhood, Intellectual and Cultural History

Sarah Crabtree

Sarah Crabtree

Assistant Professor
*Advisor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2007
at SFSU since 2012
Office: HUM 529
Office hours: T TH 10-11 and 1-2
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: slc123@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Early American

Sarah Curtis

Professor
*Advisor, *Graduate Advisor, Graduate Coordinator  *Director: European Studies Minor Ph.D., Indiana University
at SFSU since 2003,
Office: SCI 267
Office hours: on leave Spring 2014
Phone: (415) 338-2250
Email: scurtis@sfsu.edu
Web: online.sfsu.edu/scurtis
Subjects: Nineteenth-Century Europe, European Women, France, Social History, Cultural and Intellectual History

Anthony D'Agostino

Professor  *Advisor
Ph.D., UC, Los Angeles, 1971
at SFSU since 1969
Office: HUM 525
Office hours: TTH 11-12, TH 3-4
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: dagostin@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Soviet Union, Modern Russsia, European International/Intellectual

Phil Dreyfus

Philip Dreyfus

Department Chair, Associate Professor *Advisor
Ph.D., City University of New York, 1993
at SFSU since 1984
Office: HUM 553
Office hours: Mon. and Tue. 10 to 12 and 1 to 4.
Phone: (415) 338-7537 direct; Main Office 338-1604
Email: pdreyfus@sfsu.edu
Web: online.sfsu.edu/pdreyfus
Subjects: Western U.S., California and Environmental History, Labor

Jessica Elkind

Jessica Elkind

Assistant Professor *Advisor, *Graduate Advisor, Graduate Coordinator 
Ph.D., UCLA, 2005
at SFSU since 2008
Office: HUM 544
Office hours: M 10-11; W 10-11, 1230-2
Phone: (415) 405-0361
Email: jelkind@sfsu.edu
Subjects: American Foreign Relations, Southeast Asia

Sue Englander

Sue Englander

Lecturer
Office: HUM 248
Office hours: TTH 10-11
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: englande@sfsu.edu
Subjects: U.S. History

George Germany

George Germany

Lecturer
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 1972
at SFSU since 1975
Office: HUM  358
Office hours: MWF 1-2
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email:ggermany@sfsu.edu
Subject: U.S. History

Trevor Getz

Trevor Getz

Ph.D., University of London, 2000
Office: FA 317 and FA 151C
Office hours: TH 11-1
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: tgetz@sfsu.edu web: http://online.sfsu.edu/tgetz/
Subjects: Modern Africa, Gender, Historical Memory

Pi-Ching Hsu

Pi-Ching Hsu

Professor,  *Advisor, *Director, Pacific Asian Studies Minor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1994
Office: HUM 514
Office hours: Tues 2-4, TH 11-12
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: pchsu@sfsu.edu
Web: Pacific Asian Studies
Subjects:  History of China and Taiwan, Confucianism and Neo-Confucianism, Women and Gender, Social & Cultural History, History of Humor and Emotions

Sherry Katz

Sherry Katz

Lecturer 
Ph.D., UC, Los Angeles, 1991
at SFSU since 1997
Office: HUM 418
Office hours: TTh 12:30-2130
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: sjkatz@sfsu.edu
Subjects: U.S., 20th Century, Gender, California, History of Childhood

Dan Kearns

Dan Kearns

Ph.D., University of Kentucky, 2003
at SFSU since 2008
Office: HUM 268
Office Hours: T, W 3-4
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: dkearns72@yahoo.com
Subjects: American History to 1877, America 1916-1945

Sherry Keith

Sherry Keith

Associate Professor of Social Science  *Social Science Subject Matter Competence Advisor
Ph.D., Stanford University, 1974
at SFSU since 1989
Office: SCI 227
Office hours: on leave Spring 2014
contact by e-mail: Email: skeith@sfsu.edu
Subjects:

Catherine Kudlick

Catherine Kudlick

Professor of History and Director, Paul K. Longmore Disabiltiy Institute
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1988
at SFSU since 2012
Office: HUM 135
Office hours: Mon 3:30-5
Phone: (415) 405-3528  or  
338-6184 Email: kudlick@sfsu.edu
Paul K. Longmore Disability Institute
Subjects: Disability, Gender/Sexuality, France

Steve Leikin

Steve Leikin

Lecturer 
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1992
at SFSU since 1998
Office: HUM 359
Office hours: TTH 1230-2 and by appointment
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: sleikin@sfsu.edu
Subjects: U.S. Social, Political, Labor

Laura Lisy-Wagner

Laura Lisy-Wagner

Associate Professor  *Advisor
Ph.D., Harvard University, 2005
at SFSU since 2006
Office: HUM 226
Office hours: Mon 11-12,  2-3
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: lalisy@sfsu.edu
web: http://online.sfsu.edu/lalisy/
Subjects: Early Modern Europe, Central and Eastern Europe, Reformation, Gender and Sexuality

Kyle Livie

Kyle Livie

Lecturer
Ph.D., UCLA, 2007
at SFSU since 2008
Office: CA 162
Office hours: W 7-8 and TH 7-8
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: klivie@sfsu.edu
Subjects:  US History - Social, Cultural, and Urban; History of California.

Dawn Mabalon

Dawn Mabalon

Associate Professor *Advisor
Ph.D., Stanford, 2003
at SFSU since 2004
Office: EP 105
Office hours: MW 1-2
Phone: (415) 338-7540 Email: dmabalon@sfsu.edu
Subjects: US 20th Century, Race and Ethnicity, Women, Immigration,, Asian Americans, Filipina/o Americans, Philippines

Dan McGarry

Dan McGarry

Lecturer
Ph.D., Stanford, 2008
At SFSU since 2012
Office:  HUM 128
Office hours: M 6:30-7, and by appt.
Phone: (415)-338-1604
Email: mcgarry@sfsu.edu
Subjects: U.S. 20th Century, San Francisco, and homelessness

Robert NelsonRobert Nelson

Lecturer
Office:  HUM 128
Office hours: T 1230 - 230
Phone: (415)-338-1604
Email: robert.ian.nelson@gmail.com
Subjects: European History, World History, Diplomatic History, Early Modern France

Abdiel OƱate

Abdiel Oñate

Professor  *Advisor, Director: Latin American Studies Minor, Social Science Subject Matter Competence Advisor
Ph.D., El Colegio de Mexico
at SFSU since 1988
Office: HUM 260
Office hours: TTH 10-11, TH 3-4
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: onate@sfsu.edu
Web:  online.sfsu.edu/onate/
Subjects: Latin America, Mexico<

Isabelle Pafford

Isabelle Pafford

Lecturer
Office:  HUM 371
Office hours: W 9-10, 1-2
Phone: (415)-338-1604
Email: ipafford@sfsu.edu
Subjects:

Julyana Peard

Julyana G. Peard

Professor  *Advisor
Ph.D., Columbia University, 1990
at SFSU since 1991
Office: SCI 272
Office hours: on leave fall 2013 contact via e-mail
Phone:(415) 338-1280
Email: jpeard@sfsu.edu

Subjects: Latin America, Brazil, Argentina

Charles Postel

Associate Professor *Advisor
Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 2002
at SFSU since 2009
Office: HUM 546
Office hours: M 1 - 2; W 330-5
Phone: 338-1604
E-mail: postel@sfsu.edu
Subjects: U.S. History, Politics, Reform Movements, Populism, Gilded Age & Progressive Era

Jarbel Rodriguez

Professor  *Advisor, 
Ph.D., Princeton University, 2001
at SFSU since 2001
Office: SCI 267A
Office hours: summer 2013: T, TH 8:30 - 9am
Phone: (415) 338-1560
Email: jarbel@sfsu.edu
Web:  online.sfsu.edu/jarbel
Subjects: Medieval, Renaissance

Mark Sigmon

Lecturer
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1995
at SFSU since 1995
Office: SCI 221
Office hours: 
Phone: (415) 338-7563
Email: msigmon@sfsu.edu
Subjects: American West, Borderlands, Native American History

Ethan Spanier

Lecturer
Ph.D. University of Washington, 2010
Office:  SCI 224
Office hours: 
Phone 415-338-1604
Email: espanier@sfsu.edu
Subjects:  Late Antiquity, Early Middle Ages, Early Church, Byzantium

Tina Stevens

Tina Stevens

Lecturer 
Ph.D. University of California at Berkeley, 1997
at SFSU since 1999
Office: HUM 575
Office hours: T 1130-1230
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: mstevens@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Rise of  Bioethics and Biotechnology, Recent U.S.

Anthony Swanson

Anthony Swanson

Lecturer
Office: HUM 264
Office hours: F 4-5
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: swansona@sfsu.edu
Subjects:

Megan Williams

Megan Williams

Associate Professor *Advisor
Ph.D, Princeton, 2002
at SFSU since 2006
Office: HUM 532
Office hours: MW 11-12
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: mhw@sfsu.edu
Web: online.sfsu.edu/mhw
Subjects: Late Roman Empire, History of Christianity, Intellectual history

Eva Sheppard Wolf

Eva Sheppard Wolf

Professor *Advisor
Ph.D., Harvard, 2000
at SFSU since 2002
Office: HUM 328
Office hours: M 230-430, W 230-330
Phone: (415) 338-7544
Email: shepwolf@sfsu.edu
Web: http://online.sfsu.edu/shepwolf
Subjects: Revolutionary and Early National US; Race and Slavery; Free Blacks in Antebellum US; Capitalism and Slavery in U.S.

 
SF State Home