History Department {College of Liberal & Creative Arts}

Image: Photos of SF State students

Faculty

Art Arrieta

 

Arturo Arrieta

Lecturer
at SFSU since 2005
Office: SCI 222
Office hours: 
Phone: 
Email: aarrieta@sfsu.edu
Subjects: World History, US History

Dayna Barnes

Dayna Barnes

Lecturer
Office: 
Office hours: 
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: dbarnes@sfsu.edu

ON LEAVE FALL 2014

 

 Aparajita Basu

Lecturer

Office: SCI222

Office Hours TH 4-6

Email: apbasu@berkeley.edu

 

Maziar Behrooz

Maziar Behrooz

Associate Professor, *Advisor, Middle East
Ph.D., UC, Los Angeles, 1993
at SFSU since 1995
Office: SCI 223
Office hours: MW 11-12
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: mroozbeh@sfsu.edu
Web: online.sfsu.edu/mroozbeh
Subjects: Middle East, Modern Period, Iran-Iraq, Social History, Intellectual History

Deborah Brown

Deborah Brown

Lecturer
Office: HSS 378
Office hours: T Th 2-3
Phone: (415) 405-2609
Email: dbrown@sfsu.edu

Dennis Campbell

Assistant Professor, *Advisor
Ph.D. University of Chicago, 2007

Office: SCI 267B

Office hours: 

Phone: 338-1604
E-mail:  drcampbe@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Ancient World, Middle East

Chris Chekuri

Chris Chekuri

Associate Professor,  *Advisor
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2005
at SFSU since 2004
Office: 
Office hours: ON LEAVE FALL 2014

 Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: cchekuri@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Medieval and Early Modern South Asia, Colonialism and Culture, Telugu Literature and Politics, Globalization, History and Theory

 

Jon Cole

Lecturer

Office: SCI 223

Office Hours 

Phone

jjcole@berkely.edu

 

Carlo Corea

Carlo Corea

Lecturer 
Ph.D., SUNY at Stony Brook, 2001
at SFSU since 2003
Office SCI 227

Phone: (415) 338-1604
Office hours: T 10-11
Email: cjcoreaus@yahoo.com
Subjects: History of Sexuality, History of Childhood, Intellectual and Cultural History

Sarah Crabtree

Sarah Crabtree

Assistant Professor
*Advisor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2007
at SFSU since 2012
Office: SCI 272
Office hours:  T TH 10-11 and 1-2
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: slc123@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Early American

Sarah Curtis

Professor
*Advisor, *Graduate Advisor, Graduate Coordinator  *Director: European Studies Minor Ph.D., Indiana University
at SFSU since 2003,
Office: SCI 267
Office hours: MW 2:10-3:25
Phone: (415) 338-2250
Email: scurtis@sfsu.edu
Web: online.sfsu.edu/scurtis
Subjects: Nineteenth-Century Europe, European Women, France, Social History, Cultural and Intellectual History

Anthony D'Agostino

Professor,  *Advisor
Ph.D., UC, Los Angeles, 1971
at SFSU since 1969
Office: SCI 267A
Office hours: 
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: dagostin@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Soviet Union, Modern Russsia, European International/Intellectual

Phil Dreyfus

Philip Dreyfus

Department Chair, Associate Professor, *Advisor
Ph.D., City University of New York, 1993
at SFSU since 1984
Office: SCI 279
Office hours:  TW 10-12 and 1-2
Phone: (415) 338-7537 direct; Main Office 338-1604
Email: pdreyfus@sfsu.edu
Web: online.sfsu.edu/pdreyfus
Subjects: Western U.S., California and Environmental History, Labor

 

Kathryn Eigen

Lecturer

Office SCI 227

Office Hours

Phone

Email: keigen@sfsu.edu

 

 

Jessica Elkind

Jessica Elkind

Assistant Professor, *Advisor, *Graduate Advisor, Graduate Coordinator 
Ph.D., UCLA, 2005
at SFSU since 2008
Office: SCI  272
Office hours:  MW 12:30-2
Phone: (415) 405-0361
Email: jelkind@sfsu.edu
Subjects: American Foreign Relations, Southeast Asia

Sue Englander

Sue Englander

Lecturer
Office: SCI 265A
Office hours:  T Th 1-2
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: englande@sfsu.edu
Subjects: U.S. History

George Germany

George Germany

Lecturer
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 1972
at SFSU since 1975
Office: SCI 265
Office hours:  
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email:ggermany@sfsu.edu
Subject: U.S. History

Trevor Getz

Trevor Getz

Professor, *Advisor
Ph.D., University of London, 2000
Office: ADMIN 552
Office hours:  
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: tgetz@sfsu.edu web: http://online.sfsu.edu/tgetz/
Subjects: Modern Africa, Gender, Historical Memory

Pi-Ching Hsu

Pi-Ching Hsu

Professor,  *Advisor, *Director, Pacific Asian Studies Minor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1994
Office:  
Office hours:  ON LEAVE FALL 2014
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: pchsu@sfsu.edu
Web: Pacific Asian Studies
Subjects:  History of China and Taiwan, Confucianism and Neo-Confucianism, Women and Gender, Social & Cultural History, History of Humor and Emotions

 

Sherry Katz

Sherry Katz

Lecturer
Ph.D., UC, Los Angeles, 1991
at SFSU since 1997
Office: SCI 265
Office hours: T TH 12:30-1:30
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: sjkatz@sfsu.edu
Subjects: U.S., 20th Century, Gender, California, History of Childhood

Dan Kearns

Dan Kearns

Lecturer,
Ph.D., University of Kentucky, 2003
at SFSU since 2008
Office: SCI 223
Office Hours:  T 3-4 W 6-7
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: dkearns72@yahoo.com
Subjects: American History to 1877, America 1916-1945

Sherry Keith

Sherry Keith

Associate Professor of Social Science  *Social Science Subject Matter Competence Advisor
Ph.D., Stanford University, 1974
at SFSU since 1989
Office: SCI 227
Office hours: 
contact by e-mail: Email: skeith@sfsu.edu
Subjects:

Catherine Kudlick

Catherine Kudlick

Professor of History and Director, Paul K. Longmore Disabiltiy Institute
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1988
at SFSU since 2012
Office: SCI 224 
Office hours: Weds 9-11
Phone: (415) 405-3528  or  
338-6184 Email: kudlick@sfsu.edu
Paul K. Longmore Disability Institute
Subjects: Disability, Gender/Sexuality, France

Steve Leikin

Steve Leikin

Lecturer 
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1992
at SFSU since 1998
Office: SCI 221
Office hours: T TH 1-2
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: sleikin@sfsu.edu
Subjects: U.S. Social, Political, Labor

Laura Lisy-Wagner

Laura Lisy-Wagner

Associate Professor, *Advisor
Ph.D., Harvard University, 2005
at SFSU since 2006
Office: SCI 265A
Office hours: T 2-4  TH 11-12
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: lalisy@sfsu.edu
web: http://online.sfsu.edu/lalisy/
Subjects: Early Modern Europe, Central and Eastern Europe, Reformation, Gender and Sexuality

Kyle Livie

Kyle Livie

Lecturer
Ph.D., UCLA, 2007
at SFSU since 2008
Office: SCI 265
Office hours:  T Th 6-7
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: klivie@sfsu.edu
Subjects:  US History - Social, Cultural, and Urban; History of California.

Dawn Mabalon

Dawn Mabalon

Associate Professor, *Advisor
Ph.D., Stanford, 2003
at SFSU since 2004
Office: SCI 267B
Office hours:  MW 1-2
Phone: (415) 338-7540 Email: dmabalon@sfsu.edu
Subjects: US 20th Century, Race and Ethnicity, Women, Immigration,, Asian Americans, Filipina/o Americans, Philippines

Robert NelsonRobert Nelson

Lecturer
Office:  SCI 224
Office hours:  
Phone: (415)-338-1604
Email: robert.ian.nelson@gmail.com
Subjects: European History, World History, Diplomatic History, Early Modern France

Abdiel OƱate

Abdiel Oñate

Professor,  *Advisor, Director: Latin American Studies Minor, Social Science Subject Matter Competence Advisor
Ph.D., El Colegio de Mexico
at SFSU since 1988
Office: SCI 220
Office hours:  T Th 3-4
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: onate@sfsu.edu
Web:  online.sfsu.edu/onate/
Subjects: Latin America, Mexico<

Isabelle Pafford

Isabelle Pafford

Lecturer
Office:  SCI 220
Office hours:  M 3-4
Phone: (415)-338-1604
Email: ipafford@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Ancient Rome, Greece, Late Antiquity

Charles Postel

Associate Professor *Advisor
Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 2002
at SFSU since 2009
Office: sci 224
Office hours: N 9:30-10:30  W 1-2
Phone: 338-1604
E-mail: postel@sfsu.edu
Subjects: U.S. History, Politics, Reform Movements, Populism, Gilded Age & Progressive Era

Jarbel Rodriguez

Professor, *Advisor
Ph.D., Princeton University, 2001
at SFSU since 2001
Office: SCI 267A
Office hours:  MW 1-3 and 3:30-4
Phone: (415) 338-1560
Email: jarbel@sfsu.edu
Web:  online.sfsu.edu/jarbel
Subjects: Medieval, Renaissance

 

Alberto Sahagun

Lecturer

Office: SCI 227

Office Hours MF 3-4

Email: sahagun2@sfsu.edu

 

 

Mark Sigmon

Lecturer
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1995
at SFSU since 1995
Office: SCI 221
Office hours: MW 11-12 and M 3-4
Phone: (415) 338-7563
Email: msigmon@sfsu.edu
Subjects: American West, Borderlands, Native American History

Ethan Spanier

Lecturer
Ph.D. University of Washington, 2010
Office:  SCI 224
Office hours: 
Phone 415-338-1604
Email: espanier@sfsu.edu
Subjects:  Late Antiquity, Early Middle Ages, Early Church, Byzantium

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Marc Stein

Jamie  and Phyllis Pasker Professor of History
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania 1994
Office: SCI 225
Office hours T Th 2-3
Phone: (415) 338 2982
Email: marcs@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Constitutional law, social movements, gender, race, and sexuality

 
Tina Stevens

Tina Stevens

Lecturer
Ph.D. University of California at Berkeley, 1997
at SFSU since 1999
Office: SCI 227
Office hours: 
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: mstevens@sfsu.edu
Subjects: Rise of  Bioethics and Biotechnology, Recent U.S.

Anthony Swanson

Anthony Swanson

Lecturer
Office: SCI 265A
Office hours: W 1-2
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: swansona@sfsu.edu
Subjects:

Megan Williams

Megan Williams

Associate Professor *Advisor
Ph.D, Princeton, 2002
at SFSU since 2006
Office:  
Office hours:  ON LEAVE FALL 2014
Phone: (415) 338-1604
Email: mhw@sfsu.edu
Web: online.sfsu.edu/mhw
Subjects: Late Roman Empire, History of Christianity, Intellectual history

 

Eva Sheppard Wolf

Eva Sheppard Wolf

Professor *Advisor
Ph.D., Harvard, 2000
at SFSU since 2002
Office: SCI 267
Office hours:  M 2-4 W 2-3
Phone: (415) 338-7544
Email: shepwolf@sfsu.edu
Web: http://online.sfsu.edu/shepwolf
Subjects: Revolutionary and Early National US; Race and Slavery; Free Blacks in Antebellum US; Capitalism and Slavery in U.S.

 
SF State Home