Advising

Please Note: During this period of remote instruction in response to COVID-19, advising will continue to take place remotely via email, phone, and Zoom. Please see below and email your advisor for an appointment. 

General inquiries about courses or contacting an advisor should be emailed to history@sfsu.edu.

Faculty Advising By Student Last Name
Advising Days Advisor Email Last Name Begins With
M/W Jarbel Rodriguez jarbel@sfsu.edu A through D
T/R Sarah Curtis scurtis@sfsu.edu A through D
M/W Trevor Getz tgetz@sfsu.edu E through H
M/W Eva Sheppard-Wolf shepwolf@sfsu.edu E through H
T/R Sarah Crabtree slc123@sfsu.edu E through H
M/W Felicia Viator fviator@sfsu.edu I through M
T/R Marc Stein marcs@sfsu.edu I through M
T/R Dennis Campbell drcampbe@sfsu.edu I through M
M/W Maziar Behrooz mroozbeh@sfsu.edu N through S
T/R Jessica Elkind jelkind@sfsu.edu N through S
T/R Catherine Kudlick kudlick@sfsu.edu N through S
M/W Kym Morrison kymorris@sfsu.edu T through Z
T/R Laura Lisy-Wagner lalisy@sfsu.edu T through Z

The graduate coordinators, Professors Trevor Getz, Jessica Elkind and Sarah Curtis, provide general advising on course selection and program requirements. They also act as liaisons between the student and the university administration (the Graduate Division, the Office of Admissions and Records and Student Services). Questions regarding university rules and regulations, forms and petitions, as well as matters of an official nature on a departmental level such as the culminating experience options should be directed to the graduate coordinators.

Students are also encouraged to identify graduate faculty who can help them plan courses of study in their chosen fields, serve on exam or thesis committees and provide advice about career opportunities in history.

Visit the Graduate Advising Center: The Division of Graduate Studies offers counseling and advising regarding issues ranging from applications to graduation.

For General Education and University Requirements

Planning Forms

Class Registration

Graduate students should register for all classes online. Information about registration (timing, fees and procedures) can be accessed through “MySFSU” on the campus website. Enrollment material is available for most classes in time for your priority registration date; however, schedule information and permit numbers for courses like HIST896, HIST898 and HIST899 will be made available during the first week of the semester.